Review: Four Roses Barrel Proof OESQ

fr frontfr back

Four Roses Barrel Proof Single Barrel OESQ
Selected by Cambridge Spirits
2014
113.6 Proof

Finally, some barrel strength four roses is coming to Mass.  I will have to try Julio’s and Redstone’s when they are here, but this is the first Mass offering that I have tried.  As, I have not as much to compare it to, I will go straight to the review.

Nose: Raisin, Cinnamon, Cherry and when you more a bit further away you will find oak

Initial Taste: It starts with a light fruity and vanilla sweetness.  It is a mixture of floral and dark fruits (banana, cherry and some melon).  There is a creamy mouth feel and a mild buttery mouthfeel.  After the initial flavors, cinnamon and oak shine through and take over.

Finish: Once the cinnamon and oak soften, the banana comes back for a final show.  The finish is about 10 seconds and cinnamon stays throughout.  There is no alcohol burn, even thought it is over 110 proof.  It is a very smooth finish.

I am surprised that I find no floral notes in this as it is one of the main attributes that Four Roses advertises in this bourbon.

Overall: It is hard as there is not much I can compare it with currently.  I do enjoy the drink and will give it a 8.5/10

Value: For $55 a bottle, I would just slightly drop it to an 8/10.  I definitely recommend to get one and try it for yourself.

Cambridge Spirits, Kendall Square, Cambridge, MA

Leave a Reply

