My whiskey story and where it has led

So, it has been a while and a long year since I have put together a list of what I have open and bunkered.  I have spent the last year, learning, growing and improving my palate.  I started this journey learning that I love bourbon in 2004-6.  I drank whiskey and went more for what I thought value was.  At that time Jim Beam Black was my go to drink.  It tasted like what I thought I liked, whiskey, and it was better Jack, Beam white, or the other types most of my friends were drinking right after college.

Then, I thought to myself, there has to be more to bourbon than this.  Sure, its good for the price, but how much better is the good stuff.  So, I bought my first bottle of Booker’s in 2006.  This changed my whole perception of bourbon.  It was spicy, oaky and full of intense flavor.  My eyes were open.  Now, I happened to be poor as shit and could afford another bottle, but I was wanting more.  So, over the next couple of years I bought a bottle of Booker’s here and there and found my next bourbon love, George T Stagg.  I cannot remember if it was 2006 or 7 when I had my first bottle of Stagg, but that affirmed that this was my drink.  Whiskey caught my heart and I wished it was something that I could try more, but again, still poor.  I was gradually able to purchase a little more and more, but it was a single bottle that I kept, drank and then saved up for my next.

My girlfriend at the time(now my wife) knew of my obsession and for my birthday in 2009, she brought me to this new, large liquor store with the largest whiskey collection in the area.  She said to me, words that brought the largest smile on my face – You can get whatever you want.  To me, those were the best words I could have ever heard.  So, I got a few bottles and for one of the first times in my life, had more than a single bottle of bourbon at once.  I was awed at the fact that I could try new things and sit down one day and choose to drink a different bourbon if I felt like slightly different flavors.  If I felt like a spicier bourbon, I could.  If I felt like a sweeter bourbon, I could.  If I felt like a barrel proof beast, I could.  Holy Shit… this was amazing.  I could take the time to see what the subtle differences in each bourbon was.  I could start to understand the nuances between different types of bourbon side by side.  My eyes were opened again.  I had also found my next bourbon love… Old Forester Birthday Bourbon

From there my love has turned into a bit of an obsession.  I started taking notes on each bourbon to understand what flavor profiles I enjoy the most.  My 1-3 open bottles at a time turned into 5-6.  Then, 10-12 and now it is 20-25.  With only having so much room in the cabinets, I had to start bunkering bottles as well.

So now, where has that led?  What is open and currently bunkered?

The every day drinkers:

Bourbon:

Four Roses Small Batch

Booker’s

Buffalo Trace

Weller 107

Smooth Ambler Old Scout 7 year

EH Taylor Barrel Proof

Elijah Craig Barrel Proof

Rye:

Sazerac

Smooth Ambler Old Scout 7 year

The Special Occasions:

Booker’s 25th Anniversary

Four Roses Small Batch 125th Anniversary 2013

Willet 11y Barrel 2100, Colonial Spirits

Jefferson’s Presidential 30 year

Parker’s Heritage Promises of Hope 2013

Van Winkle Special Reserve Lot B 2013

George T Stagg 2012

Old Forester Birthday Bourbon 2013

Elijah Craig 21 year

Stagg Jr

Four Roses Single Barrel Barrel Proof OESQ

Blanton’s Straight From the Barrel 2012

Orphan Barrel Barterhouse

Jim Beam’s Choice 8 year 1969

Whistle Pig

Booker’s 1982 (Original Release)

Whisky:

Nikka Coffey Grain 2013

Lagavulin 16year

Bunkered(unopen):

10 Old Forrester Birthday Bourbon 2004 – 2013

4 Elijah Craig Barrel Proof Batch 4

5 Elijah Craig Barrel Proof Batch 5

1 Elijah Craig 18 year

1 1963 Personalized Old Forester 100 proof

1 Willet 11y Barrel 2100, Colonial Spirits

1 Willet 2 year Rye (First Batch of Willet Distilled Spirits) 2013

1 Booker’s 25th Anniversary

1 Booker’s 1982 (First Release)

1 Blanton’s Gold

3 Jim Beam’s Choice 8 year 1969

1 National Distillers Old Granddad BIB 1992

1 United Distillers Old Charter 12 year

1 Orphan Barrel Barterhouse

1 Orphan Barrel Old Blowhard

3 Old Weller Antique 107

1 Elmer T Lee Commemorative 2013

1 Old Scout 7 year

1 Old Scout Barrel Strength 8 year Red Dog

Willet 13 year Loch and K(e)y

Four Roses Single Barrel Barrel Proof OESK

Leave a comment